Athletes’ Commission Election 2017

It’s your sport. Thank you for voting and making sure your voice is heard.

President’s Message

I am delighted to write this message for the IAAF Athletes’ Commission Election Website concerning the procedures and candidates for the elections which take place at the IAAF World Championships London 2017.

The Athletes’ Commission is currently composed of 19 members, 12 of whom are elected by their fellow athletes and seven are appointed by IAAF Council. Elections for half of the 12 elected positions take place at each edition of the biennial IAAF World Championships.

It is encouraging to see that 15 athletes have been nominated by their national federations to contest the six commission positions which are up for election in London, each for a four-year term commencing on 1 January 2018.

The stature of the candidates who have put their names forward is impressive and all accredited athletes in London have the right to vote. The process for candidates and the electorate alike is about athletes’ ‘giving back’ to the sport and in the process ensuring that their voice is properly represented in the decision making processes of world athletics such as agreeing rules and regulations. The chairperson of the Athletes’ Commission has a seat on IAAF Council giving the commission substantial direct influence.

Therefore, I urge you to take part in this election process and give the same serious consideration to your vote as you would to your training and preparation for competition. The choices you make in this election will influence the future direction of the sport in which you compete.

Sebastian Coe
IAAF President

Introducing The Athlete’s Commission

The Athletes’ Commission represents the critical link between the athletes on the field and governing body. It plays a crucial role in the representation of athletes at all levels of Athletics organisations and ensures the voice of the athletes is heard & fed into decision making processes.

Currently 18 active or retired athletes on the Athletes’ Commission

Athletes are elected or nominated for a period of 4 years

12 members are elected by athletes like you

6 members are nominated by IAAF Council

IAAF Athletes’ Commission Election 2017 Results

(Election winners first)

  • Kim Collins (St Kitts and Nevis)
    Kim Collins (St Kitts and Nevis)
  • Inaki Gomez (Canada)
    Inaki Gomez (Canada)
    Race Walk
  • Adam Kszczot (Poland)
    Adam Kszczot (Poland)
  • Thomas Röhler (Germany)
    Thomas Röhler (Germany)
    Javelin Throw
  • Ivana Spanovic (Serbia)
    Ivana Spanovic (Serbia)
    Long Jump
  • Benita Willis (Australia)
    Benita Willis (Australia)
  • Yipsi Moreno (Cuba)
    Yipsi Moreno (Cuba)
    Hammer Throw
  • Marco Paulo Fortes (Portugal)
    Marco Paulo Fortes (Portugal)
    Shot Put
  • Rožle Prezelj (Slovenia)
    Rožle Prezelj (Slovenia)
    High Jump
  • Angel David Rodriguez (Spain)
    Angel David Rodriguez (Spain)
  • Periklis Iakovakis (Greece)
    Periklis Iakovakis (Greece)
    400m Hurdles
  • Olga Saladukha (Ukraine)
    Olga Saladukha (Ukraine)
    Triple Jump
  • Habiba Ghribi (Tunisia)
    Habiba Ghribi (Tunisia)
    3000m Steeple Chase
  • Wang Yu (China)
    Wang Yu (China)
    High Jump
  • Györgyi Zsivoczky-Farkas (Hungary)
    Györgyi Zsivoczky-Farkas (Hungary)
    Combined Events